Spanning the rugged North-East from Launceston to St Helens, the Trail of the Tin Dragon winds its way through stunning scenery and historic townships. The Trail tells the story of tin mining in the North East of Tasmania, focusing on the European and Chinese miners who sought their fortune and risked all for this most remarkable metal.
The Trail of the Tin Dragon is the untold story of the North East of Tasmania. It is a Chinese story.��It is a story of Tin mining, of boom and bust, flood and drought, riches and poverty, hope and despair. ��It is a story of racial hatred and racial harmony. A story of human transience and the power of nature. The trails begins at Launceston, and passes through Branxholm, Derby, Moorina, Pyengana and St Helens.
The ore crushing stampers of the Anchor Tin Mine��are the remains��of one of the largest tin mines in the North-East of Tasmania. ��Once running with a maximum of 100 stampers,��the mine��was first opened in the early 1880?s��and was the largest open cut mine in the world in 1890.��As well as the 100 ��stamper battery the mine had a water wheel��66 feet in diameter which is no longer in evidence today.��The stampers can be found north west of St��Helens��on the way to Pyengana.