Don River Railway is home to has the largest collection of vintage steam locomotives, diesel locomotives and carriages in Tasmania. This museum has a vast collection of locomotives, rolling stock, equipment and memorabilia, as well as operating a 30 minute return journey covering three and a half kilometres on the eastern bank of the picturesque Don River.
A steam locomotive hauls the train on Sundays, Public Holidays and for group bookings. For the remainder of the year weekday trains are run with a vintage railcar.
While at the Don River Railway you will be able to explore the museum, signal box, workshops and the largest collection of steam and diesel locomotives in Tasmania plus the largest collection of rolling stock that was used on Tasmanian railways dating from 1871 to 1951.
Trains run every day on the hour every hour from 10am until 3pm except Christmas day and Good Friday. Bookings are required for groups of 20 or more (Group discounts apply). The Don River Railway also has a restoration workshop in the Inveresk Railyard Precinct in Launceston where historic items of rolling stock are under restoration. This facility is only open three days per week.
Location: Forth Rd, Don. Ph : (03) 6424 6335.
View Larger Map
Tasmania's is small rail system by world standards. It currently carries no regular passenger services. The main cargo carried in the state's north is cement, which is shipped from Railton to the port at Devonport. Other major commodities carried around the state are coal, logs, containers and newsprint. It consists of a network of narrow gauge track of 3 ft 6 in (1,067 mm) reaching virtually all cities and major towns in the state. Today, rail services are focussed primarily on bulk freight, with no commercial passenger services being operated, but it was not always that way.