Dennes Point is both a geographical feature and a small township at the northern tip of Bruny Island.
It is named after the Denne family who first settled the area as farmers around the 1830s, although it was known as Kelly's Point up to the 1840s, being named after pioneer shipmaster and harbour pilot James Kelly (Australian explorer). Kelly gained fame for circumnavigating Tasmania in a whaling-boat, he was also known as being the father and founder of whaling in Tasmania.
Kelly's Point was the gateway to North Bruny from before the turn of the century, until the event of the vehicular ferry in 1954,
Anthony Smith Denne commenced a regular ferry service in 1847 across the D'Entrecasteaux Channel between Tinderbox and "Kelly's" Point, although the island is now serviced by a vehicular ferry between Kettering and Roberts Point.
Over the years Dennes Point has seen mixed agricultural activity, mostly orcharding and light grazing.
View Larger Map
A 25 minute drive from Roberts Point where the ferry arrives, Dennes Point is a great boating and fishing spot, a safe swimming-beach and picnic-area, it boasts spectacular views of the channel and Derwent estuary. Fishing is available from the jetty.
Close by, Bull Bay was a major whaling station in the 1820's.