Blue Tier

The Blue Tier in Tasmania���s North East Highlands was an unknown little part of the world until it became the centre of a forestry operations debate.�ݒ��Friends of the Blue Tier��� was formed to investigate alternatives to clear-fell logging and protect this beautiful area which has wild forests of giant trees, hidden waterfalls and fabulous wildlife, much of it threatened.��The mountain plateau they are seeking to protect ��once had the world���s largest open-cut tin mine with miners swarming through the forests, eager to make their fortunes. Now it is a walking destination catering for all levels of experience.

The Blue Tier Forest Reserve���s long history in mining and forestry operations adds interest for visitors. The first Europeans came to this area after some miners who were working in the Mathinna goldfields discovered some rich tin deposits in some of the creeks in this area.��The news spread quickly and the area was settled in 1878 as a mining town. Back then the town was made up of a pub, two hotels, a blacksmith, butcher, three stores and a few residential cottages.��The level of work varied over the years with the fluctuation of tin prices from things such as the Depression. Chinese miners were also employed here for cheap labour until a policy to employ only white labour in the hard rock mines forced them out.

Over the years many mining companies came and went, some of these included Cambria, Wellington, Anchor Company and in more recent years Aberfoyle Ltd (1960s) and Renison Ltd (1977). Between 1875 and 1996 the Blue Tier produced more than 11,000 tonnes of tin.��It was in 1958 that the Blue Tier was claimed as a forest reserve, and by 1997 more than 5000 hectares has been included to conserve the flora, fauna and rich heritage.

View Larger Map

Where Is it?

27 km west of St Helens, off Tasman Highway


There are a series of tracks on Blue Tier that offer a variety of experience, duration and level of challenge for walkers (see below). Goblin Forest Walk is the shortest at only 20 minutes return. ��The walk has a great interpretation of some of the miners who worked here and also shows how the forest is regrowing back after it was cleared for mining all those years ago.


Pun in A Paddock

In 1880 a family with 15 children built a private homestead up the road from the Cottons. A decade later, a hotel license was granted for the property – known affectionately these days as The Pub in the Paddock. It  has been continuously licensed ever since and visitors can experience hospitality of a bygone era with hearty meals and open fires. It has six rooms for accommodation and a tea room.

Pyengana Dairy

Up the road from The Pub in the Paddock is another Pyengana institution – Pyengana Dairy Company. Its renowned Clothbound Cheddar is produced by John Healey using the original method established by his great grandfather at the turn of the 20th century. With such a long history of production, Pyengana Clothbound Cheddar is one of Australia’s oldest specialist cheeses. Attached to the dairy is the Holy Cow Cafe, a wonderful place to do a little cheese tasting, or to stop and enjoy a light meal as the cows on the other side of the fence jostle for a spot on the laser-guided milking machines.

St Columba Falls

Not far from Pyengana is St Columba Falls, one of Tasmania’s highest waterfalls, with water plunging 90m from the Mt Victoria foothills to the valley of the South George River. There is a delightful walk from the car park to the falls through one of the most captivating rainforests you will see in a long time. Halls Falls is a smaller, cascading waterfall, but its location in beautiful forest makes up for anything it may lack in size. The water that tumbles over these two falls is the reason the region became known as Pyengana. It is the Aboriginal word for “two rivers”. These days the two rivers are called North and South George. South George flows through the valley and spills over the top of St Columba Falls.


The area around Pyengana had several tin mines such as the Anchor Tin Mine and Battery situated in the Pyengana Pass.��Fifteen kilometres beyond Pyengana are the remnants of the mining village of��Lottah where massive anchor stampers stand silently. These rusted tin crushing machines were driven by a waterwheel. At its height Lottah had 40 homes, but when the mine closed in the 1950s, the township was abandoned and all that remained was something resembling a moonscape. The site has since been reclaimed by Mother Nature.

Halls Falls

Halls Falls in the north east, is located up near Blue Tier, and is the first attraction along the way to the Anchor Tin Mine Site and Blue Tier. There are also a number of picnic tables near the information booth, and some old mining equipment. The walk to the falls is only 30 minutes return, however if you want the full experience it is recommended that you dedicate about an hour and a half. The falls are one of the prettiest in Tasmania and are well worth leaving the main road to visit. What it lacks in sheer size it makes up for in quiet beauty.


Goblin Forest Walk

The Goblin Forest Walk is the shortest and easiest of a series of tracks on Blue Tier, near St Helens in Tasmania���s north east. It is recommended for both walkers and mountain bike riders. These walks offer a variety of experience, duration and level of challenge. Interpretation signs along the walk explore the history of the Blue Tier.
This 20-minute walk is great for those who do not have much time but want to stretch their legs and learn about the ���mountain of tin���. The walk is of wheelchair standard.��Another short walk is the 30 minute return to the top of Mt. Poimena. It is a short and steady climb to the summit. Walkers are rewarded with spectacular views over St. Helens and the coastline beyond (follow blue markers to the trig point). Winter snowfalls are rare, but add a special touch to a winter walk if you are lucky enough to be in the area after a snow fall.

Moon Valley Rim Loop Walk

Moon Valley Rim Loop Walk (2 hours):��The walk takes you to the summit of Mt. Poimena then along Moon Valley Rim and Blue Tier Battery before returning via the Sun Flats Road. (follow blue markers)

Australia Hill Loop Walk

Australia Hill Loop Walk (2 hours):��This walk passes through open country and stands of regenerating rainforest and is great for visitors who want to see some remnants of the mining era. Look for abandoned machinery at Summit Mine and Harry Moses��� (the last Blue Tier miner) sluice box at the Compere Mine. (follow orange markers)

Mt Michael Loop Walk

Mt. Michael Loop Track��(2 hours):��Begins at the Sun Flats Road. The walk passes through rainforest before climbing up to the summit of Mt. Michael. Walkers are rewarded with fantastic views. On the way down stop and look at the Mt. Michael Mine which was one of the largest mines in the area (follow yellow markers).

Wellington Loop Walk

Wellington Loop Walk (3 hours):��Begins at the halfway mark on the Goblin Forest Walk. The walk is great for those interested in the history of the Blue Tier because it takes you past interesting remnants of the mining days. The walk passes through a diversity of vegetation types including regenerating rainforest, patches of remnant rainforest and sphagnum bogs (follow red markers).

Three Notch Walk

Three Notch Track ��� return (6 hours):��This, the most difficult of the walks, follows an old pack trail to McGoughs Lookout and return. Walkers are rewarded with spectacular views of the coastline. The walk is long and difficult and should only be attempted by experienced walkers. (follow yellow and red markers). It is now possible to hike from Sun Flats to the bottom end near Pioneer. However this requires having a vehicle at the other end to pick up walkers. .

Design by W3Layouts | Content © 2013 Phoenix Group Co. | Sales: phone 1300 753 517, email: